Fillmore West
San Francisco, Ca. - November 9, 1994 - CD-R2 - Aud 5

Disc 1:

  1. Motherless Child
  2. Malted Milk
  3. How Long
  4. Kidman Blues
  5. County Jail
  6. .44
  7. Blues All Day Long
  8. Standing Around Crying
  9. Hoochie Coochie Man
  10. It Hurts Me Too
  11. Blues Before Sunrise
  12. Third Degree
  13. Reconsider Baby
  14. Sinner's Prayer
  15. Can't Judge Nobody
  16. Early in the Morning
  17. Too Bad
  18. Someday After a While

Disc 2:

  1. Tore Down
  2. Have You Ever Loved a Woman
  3. Crosscut Saw
  4. Driftin'
  5. Crossroads
  6. Groaning the Blues
  7. Five Long Years
  8. Ain't Nobody's Business

Comments: The second of two performances recorded at San Francisco's legendary Fillmore by Martin Scorcese for the unreleased Nothing But the Blues documentary. Quite interesting to hear the recordings from the perspective of the audience - in some cases, like the version of "Crossroads" which made its way into the film, the audience recording has even more power and majesty than that found in the soundboard recording - you can feel the dust coming off the guitar amps, the reverberation of the bass, the snap of the horns. Also used from this show in the film were "Early in the Morning", "Someday After a While", "Have You Ever Loved a Woman", and last but certainly not least, the blistering version of "Driftin'", which apparently was only performed twice (the other performance being at Irving Plaza on November 27th (thanks Mike!) on the blues tour. An essential audience recording!