Eric Clapton - Irving Plaza 1994 (I)
Recorded at Irving Plaza, NYC on November 26, 1994 - CD-R2 - Aud 6

Disc 1:
1) Motherless Children
2) Malted Milk
3) How Long
4) Kidman Blues
5) County Jail
6) Blues All Day Long
7) Going Away
8) Standing Around Crying
9) Hoochie Coochie Man
10) It Hurts Me Too
11) Third Degree
12) Reconsider Baby
13) Sinner's Prayer
14) Can't Judge Nobody
15) Early in the Morning

Disc 2:
1) Someday After a While
2) Tore Down
3) Have You Ever Loved a Woman
4) Crosscut Saw
5) Five Long Years
6) Crossroads
7) Groaning the Blues
8) Sweet Home Chicago
9) Nobody's Business

Comments: Wow! The next best thing to being there ... a perfect audience recording. Sounds as if you are sitting front row center in this small venue - every instrument is clear as a bell, the dynamics of the band are preserved perfectly. Except for a touch of room echo (which in this case simply adds ambience), this recording could be confused for a soundboard at times. Moreover, the performance quality matches the recording. Overall the performance isn't quite as "over the top" like the last of the Irving Plaza shows featured on Club Full of Blues but it does feature an absolutely jaw-dropping performance of "Early In the Morning". Clapton's use of dynamics, phrasing, and fluid phrasing sets this one apart. "Every Day" also features some great horn work from the Kick Horns, in a great, jazzy interlude. Note that "Blues Before Sunrise" is missing on this recording; it needs to be cross-checked with other releases of this show for quality. Recommended.