On Guitar and Vocals - Me! Part 8
Recorded at the Budokan, Tokyo on October 31, 1997 - Jungle Tiger - nun - aud 6

Disc 1:

1) Layla
2) Change the World
3) Nobody Knows You
4) Tears in Heaven
5) Going Down Slow
6) Broken Hearted
7) Pilgrim
8) Before You Accuse Me
9) I Shot the Sheriff
10) Wonderful Tonight

Disc 2:

1) Tore Down / Have You Ever Loved a Woman
2) Cocaine
3) Tearing Us Apart
4) Old Love
5) Sunshine of Your Love
6) Every Day I Have the Blues

Note: An incredible show - could be the best performance of the Far East tour (compare with the 28th). An excellent performance of "Going Down Slow" - nice use of dynamics, great range from loud to soft. On this night, Gadd really finds the pocket with the drums. "Broken Hearted" - what a wonderful version of this song. Andy really contributes some nice backing rhythm guitar on this one. An Awesome "Sunshine" - one of my all time favorites. EC ends "Old Love" and immediately kicks into Sunshine with a molten solo. A great outro, too. I also like how he introduces himself, too: "On Guitar and Vocals: Eric Clapton".

Before "Broken Hearted" Someone in the audience calls out and EC responds:

EC: Thank you.
Fan (faintly): Happy Halloween!
EC: Happy Halloween, yeah right! Thank you very much.
Fan: Don't forget (unintelligible)
EC: You What? Don't forget what?
Fan: Happy (unintelligible)
EC: Aw, you've lost me now. Well this is another one, this one is called
Broken Hearted.