Front Cover   Front Inside   Back Cover  

David Gilmour - Shine On You Solo

London, England - January 18, 2002 - CD-R2 - Aud 4

Track List:
  1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond Pt. 14
  2. Fat Old Sun
  3. Coming Back to Life
  4. Dominos
  5. High Hopes 1
  6. High Hopes 2
  7. Je Crois
  8. Smile
  9. Breakthrough
  10. Wish You Were Here
  11. Duet with Kate Bush
  12. Dawning of the Day
  13. Shine On You Crazy Diamond
  14. Freedom
  15. Hushabye Mountain

Geetarz Comments:

This recording features one of David Gilmour's incredible mostly acoustic gigs held in 2001 and 2002, parts of which were later officially released (on DVD only, alas) as David Gilmour in Concert. It is interesting to hear these shows in their unedited (and untweaked) entirety, as it offers a different perspective. Of note, in this reviewer's opinion, the high point of the official release is an amazingly transcendant performance of "Coming Back to Life", which suddenly veers into an electric guitar solo after a quiet acoustic beginning. On the official release, when this happens you can only hear the amplified, electric guitar sound, but this clear audience recording enables the listener to hear both the amplified electric sound as well as the direct sound from Gilmour's acoustic. A nice, very listenable audience recording, and required listening for anyone who enjoyed the official release.